Our Organization

UNITECR 2017 Congress
Organized by the Latin American Members of the UNITECR International Executive Board Under the auspicious of the UNITECR International Executive Board Hosted by the ALAFAR

Latin American UNITECR Committee
  • Pablo Valenzuela, Refractarios Iunge Ltda., Chile
  • Paschoal Bonadía, Magnesita S.A., Brazil
  • Juan Carlos Calviño, Carbo San Luis S.A., Argentina
  • Abel Carriquiri, Refractarios Peruanos S.A., Perú
  • Ricardo Gavagna, ALAFAR
UNITECR 2017 Officers
  • Pablo Valenzuela, President
  • Juan Carlos Calviño, Vice-President
  • Abel Carriquiri, Treasurer
  • Jorge Fonck, Social Program Chair

What is UNITECR?

UNITECR is a biennial international conference that is organized in rotation by one of its four "Founding Member Organizations". The official governing body is the UNITECR International Executive Board (IEB), composed of representatives of the Founding Member Organizations, the Principal Member Organizations, and certain individuals elected to the IEB as Distinguished Life Members. The IEB is an international non-profit organization existing to contribute to the progress and exchange of industrial knowledge and technologies concerning refractories according to its official By-Laws. The objective of the UNITECR IEB is to organize the biennial UNITECR and any other meetings with a view to maintain and develop its activities and generally to contribute to the progress and exchange of industrial knowledge and technologies concerning refractories.
1989 ACer5 Anaheim/USA
1991 GRA Aachen/Germany

Sao Paulo/Brazil

1995 TARJ Kyoto/Japan
1997 ACerS

New Orleans/USA

1999 GRA Berlin/Germany


2003 TARJ Osaka/Japan
2005 aCERS Orlando/USA
2007 GRA Dresden/Germany


2011 TARJ


2013 ACerS


2015 GRA




Founding Members
  • The American Ceramic Society (ACerS)
  • German Refractory Association (GRA)
  • Asociación Latinoamericana de Fabricantes de Refractarios (ALAFAR)
  • The Technical Association of Refractories, Japan (TARJ)

Principal Members
  • Chinesse Ceramic Society (CCS)
  • Indian Refractory Makers Association (IRMA)
  • Féderation Européene des Fabriocants de Produits Réfractaires (PRE)